Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Special Recognitions

Second prize: ‘Tilburg Modern Industrial City Award for Sustainable Development’ by the City of Tilburg, 1995

Nomination:   ‘Brabant Award for Innovation’ by the Province of North Brabant, 2000

First prize:

The Egg of Columbus – The Dutch National Award for Innovation and Sustainable Development, awarded by the Dutch Ministries of Environmental Management and of Education in 2001 because of Roorda's Cirrus Project. From the Jury Report:

"Many projects have recently started in the Netherlands with the aim to integrate sustainable development into curricula or operations. The Cirrus Project excels in the eyes of the Jury, because of the wide ambition (aiming both at curricula of many existing study programs and at institution operations) and the impact on the professional practice. The Jury hopes that the project results will be widely distributed, to other faculties and universities."

The Jury President, Prof. dr. ir. Leo Jansen, reads the Jury Report

Niko carries the Sculpture - symbol of the Award - and a big smile

A chat and a snack with Leo Jansen, Jury President

Congratulations from Hans van der Vlist, Director General of the Ministry of Environmental Management

Interview on stage by Leoni Jansen, who presented the Award Ceremony